Website Inquiry: Phishing Scam
If you own a domain name, you will likely have received a slew of emails similar to the one below.
They are part of a new phishing scam. Do NOT reply as they will only solicit further information from you, which will be used to rip you off.
Some points to note: The ‘from name’ has no relation to the ‘from email’, which is different from the person who signs the email and the ‘reply to email address’ is also different
Website Enquiry
From: Pearle Joyce (akanidaniels@virgilio.it)You may not know this sender. Mark as safe | Mark as unsafe
Sent:Tue 2/05/08 1:37 AM
Reply-to:Pearle Joyce (bond.marketing@gmail.com)
To: XXXX.org (XXXXXX@hotmail.com)
Hello ,
My name is Richard Thompson and I am interested in having a link on your website (XXXXX.org).
I will be very thankful to you if you give me some prices for the following ads:
1) text link on your homepage/all pages
2) text box ad 120×60, 125×125 on homepage/all pages
Thank you in advance!
Richard ThompsonTechnorati Tags: Ken baylor Phishing Scam Website Inquiry Security Alert
Posted: February 5th, 2008 under Security.
Comments: none
You may not know this sender.
Write a comment